Reduce, Repurpose and Upcycle

I love packaging and boxes and I often have a difficult time throwing out boxes that are pretty or sturdy or that I think can be used for something else. For Christmas my folks gave the hubby and I a portable Bluetooth Bose speaker system. Not only is it an amazing speaker, it came with amazing packaging that had my mind racing…the possibilities for that box were endless. Here’s some pics of what it looked like:

imageimage

A perfectly sturdy box with an insert that made a little shelf below it. I thought that this would be amazing as a little holder on my desk for embellishments or PL cards. So I got to work decorating and started my using some Echo Park Paper from their Style essentials line (which I adore) to cover the inside of the box. The tray that acted as the bottom for the top compartment actually hung a little below the opening for the shelf, making it visible, so I taped the edge in a sparkly silver washi tape.

image

Then I added a strip of the same paper to the front and a band of the same silver washi tape. I cut a black circle from cardstock and added a blue wood veneer camera and a plastic heart embellishment to it.

Voila…a custom made, recycled embellishment holder for my desk!

image

I decided it would now become the holder for my thousands of enamel dots, tags and die cut shapes….

imageimage

Found anything good to upcycle lately???

Leave a Reply

