You get older, and sadly, this means I do too

My best friend’s son had his 18th birthday this week. It is so hard for me to comprehend that this little guy, who I have known since birth, is not so little anymore. It’s funny because most days I feel mentally like I’m closer to 18 than my biological 36 years, then events like this 18th birthday (and my occasional aching joints) force me into a sobering reality….I am getting older.

I really wanted to make him a unique card for his birthday, and since he designs skateboards, I wanted something skateboard themed. So the Pinterest trolling began and I stumbled upon J.J. Bolton’s website and her amazing skateboard card which actually was a 3D skateboard rack with three miniature skateboards on it. I immediately knew this was the card I wanted to make, and that I wanted to have two of the boards actually look like 2 of the boards he created. J.J’s post had a free Silhouette cut file to make the project, so I was excited and ready to create. Here’s the link to J.J.’s original post, http://www.jjbolton.org/2012/07/all-decked-out.html

So I download the cutfile and cut the boards onto plain white cardstock and printed the rack on black cardstock. I copied photo’s of two of the skateboards that he designed and scaled them to size using Photoshop, then glued and trimmed them to fit the skateboard shape. For the third skateboard, which was to have the happy birthday sentiment, I gathered some supplies to make a grungy looking board…

image

I used Stampin’ Up’s Day to Day and Tape it sets to create the chevron pattern and “18” numbers. Then I used Stampin’ Up’s Ruby Red ink, Tim Holtz’s Distress Stain in Mustard Seed and Tsukineko’s Memento Ink in Tuxedo Black to layer, distress and colour the board. I had a wooden star embellishment that I rubbed in red ink and edged in the black and added the “Party Hearty” stamp sentiment (also from Stampin’ Up).  I finished with some yellow stickers from Fancy Pants Designs Inc.

imageimageimage

To write a birthday message, I used a chalkboard 3 x 4 project life journaling card (from the Good Times kit), stamped and inked it up a bit and added another smaller wooden star embellishment. I glued this to the back of the rack for my message.

imageimageimage

I must admit, I am not the most advanced stamper and I am sometimes fearful of the process, but I quite enjoyed playing around with ink and stamps on this project and was very happy with the way it turned out.

See this old dog isn’t too old for new tricks !

Sarah

One thought on “You get older, and sadly, this means I do too

Leave a Reply

