Make your own project life cards…on the cheap

I decided last year that I was going to create project life style birthday albums for both my boys to house all their birthday photos and document the events of their day. As they get older they probably will not remember most of them, so I really wanted to do this and I thought that PL style is the easiest and fastest way to do so.

I really wanted to use a different style, colour scheme or product line for each year to keep each year uniquely its own. What I realized as I started was that there really wasn’t too many PL birthday themes that I could find and that I was going to run out long before their birthdays did. So I decided to create my own.

What I started with was from the Echo Park Paper Birthday Wishes line. I bought a element sticker sheet ($2.99) and one double-sided patterned paper sheet ($1.29), which I cut into 3×4 rectangles. I also bought another double-sided paper sheet ($1.29), this one had printed 4×6, 4×4 and 3×4 cards on it, which I cut apart into the elements.

523 524 522 

Additionally, I used some plain PL cards that I had from We R Memory Keepers which were solid on one side, graphed on the back. Then I set to work making a unique set of embellished PL cards for my son’s 6th birthday addition to his album. I used washi tape, enamel dots, stamps and the element stickers to create my cards. In addition to the 9 pre-printed cards that I cut out (above right) and embellished,  I created an additional 15 3×4 cards and 3 4×6 cards…..

525 528 527 526

There you go! I had more than enough cards to fill the pages (I still have a few to spare, I may make them into cards or something) and it cost me only $5.57 in new supplies…and helped me use up a few that I had hanging around in my stash for a while!

Here’s two of the pages in the album and how they turned out with the cards…

536 535

Making your own PL cards is a fun and economical way of getting truly unique elements into your pages, hope I inspired you to make some of your own!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

