Just Beachy – A summer memories mini-album

Well folks, summer is officially in swing and so is a much needed vacation. We recently came back from a trip to Sandbanks with friends of ours and had a great time. I had so many great photos of the kiddos at the beach I really wanted to do a mini-album not necessarily of the trip but specifically of beach memories from the trip.

I knew exactly what I wanted to use for the mini-album as well. Last year I purchased a Maggie Holmes Open Album from her line with Crate Paper (I adore EVERYTHING Crate Paper) and it had a mixture of pages and a transparency cover, I thought it would be perfect. I selected the pages I felt would work with my theme and put them aside.

image image

In addition to the pages that came with the album, I decided to create a few pages from printed canvas. I found at the dollar store of all places printable canvas sheets for use with your home printer. Using the Project Life App, I printed some of the 4 x 6 cards from Crate Paper’s The Pier collection (which I think on the App is listed as “Summer Themed Cards” ). I printed them 6 x 8 to fit with the other pages in the album. I loved the way they turned out.

image

All my photos were horizontal, so I decided to flip the album to reflect that, however, on the first transparency sheet, there was “wonderful today” written on the blue banner. I had to cover this as flipping the orientation messed up the words. I layered a banner and some chipboard shapes over top. The first picture shows the cover with the overlay, the second picture without. The cork letters on the cover were another dollar store find and I love how they mimic the sand.

image  image

I used the graph type paper from the album for the first page, and I added some splatters of aqua watercolour to it for colour. I used paper from another Crate Paper line, Notes and things, to mount the photo then used a photo frame with a coloured transparency on top (also from Crate Paper). The friends puffy word is from Heidi Swapp and the arrow sticker is from The Pier collection by Crate Paper. I used the same paper that I mounted the photo from the first page as the background of the second page on the right. This is the back of the paper from the album that looks like a giant tag, so I cut and glued it to the back of that paper. Again I added another Crate Paper transparency frame and the word love die cut (I think from MME).

image image

For the third page I left the original tag and matted the photo in paper that I printed from the PL App. The paper, stickers and camera are all from Crate Paper’s The Pier line. The fourth page, image on the right, was the first of my pages printed on canvas, which I printed directly from the Project Life App. I stamped the date on the arrow spot, used a wood printed tag and layered more stickers from The Pier line on top of it. I finished it off with some printed canvas ribbon (which I received in the packaging of a pocket letter…and I loved it so much I knew I wanted to use it in here), some enamel dots and some phrase stickers from Crate Paper’s Craft Market line.

image  image

So I like the way the canvas printed on the Project Life App images that I decided to try it for printing a photo, but I hated the look. I decided to keep the canvas sheet though and I sewed it to the canvas one I used in page 4. I then printed the same photo on photo paper and glued it on top of the canvas one. Page 5 is all about layers and on top of the paper photo is a Maggie Holmes Crate Paper overlay and a paperclip holds another heart transparency. I embellished with a variety of washi tape (all the gold striped and polka dot washi tape is from Stampin’ Up) and stickers from The Pier line.  I used the same background paper from page 2 for the page on the right, page 6. On top of that paper I added some cloud paper from Maggie Holmes’s Crate Paper collection (I can’t remember which one) and embellished with that awesome ribbon, washi, another Heidi Swapp puffy word sticker and another phrase sticker from Crate Paper’s Craft Market line.

image image

I used a graphed paper from the album for page 7 on the left, my selfie pic (admittedly I don’t do many but I couldn’t resist the half face with the beach backdrop). I simply added to strips of paper, one aqua and one wood veneer, plus some washi, enamel dots and phrase stickers to the bottom. I used the same cork letters for “love” and used the thicker word “life” below (I believe it’s from Amy Tangerine). Page 8 on the right is another canvas print card from the Project Life App, to which I mounted the photo on that some Maggie Holmes cloud paper as I used on page 6. I again sewed this to the canvas page behind it, but I also added some decorative zigzag stitching along the yellow strip border. I embellished with stickers from The Pier line, more ribbon and washi.

image image

And finally the last page, one of my favourite pics of the hubby and my son. Again the background is an image printed on canvas from the Project Life App. I rounded the corners of the photo to mimic the frame, added some washi and some cute kites I picked up at Michaels’s. Lastly, I used some phrase stickers at the bottom to finish it off.

image

It was so much fun doing this album as I adore mini-albums of all shapes and sizes, and I am glad I finally put this one in my hoard/stash to use! Hope everyone makes it to the beach this summer!!

Sarah

One thought on “Just Beachy – A summer memories mini-album

Leave a Reply

