And some days, you’re inspired by Lionel Ritchie

Inspiration is a funny thing. It hits whenever it wants, most often randomly, casually. Last Sunday I had one of those moments. Summer Sundays are lovely. There is no swimming and/or hockey and/or soccer games and/or lessons to attend to and we actually get to just lounge around and enjoy not having anything to do. Two Sundays ago was a blissful Sunday morning. I was listening to Songza as a I made pancakes for the boys when Lionel Ritchie’s “Easy” came on. Fabulously perfect for the moment, I honestly couldn’t have planned it better. As I sang my off-key heart out, I brought breakfast to the dining room table when I noticed the boys in the living room, mostly because they were quiet and engrossed in reading (this is not an everyday occurrence, in fact this may be the first and only time this moment will ever happen).

Then of course, I grabbed my camera.

I immediately knew I wanted to do a layout about this topic, and I had my title, courtesy of Mr.Ritchie….

image

I recently treated myself to a bunch of paper and embellishments from Crate Paper’s Journey Collection recently (SCORE!), which is vintage travel themed and which I totally adore. I started by cutting my title from plain white cardstock on my silhouette and I wanted to try for the first time actually using the paper that was cut for my design (as opposed to the shape I cut out, which is what I always do). I used some blue sky paper from the Journey paper pad and adhered it behind the white cardstock to get my blue lettering.

I used two other papers from the Journey paper pad, the wood grain and the blue triangle paper. I started embellishing by added some word stickers from Crate Paper’s Craft Market line which reads together ” remember this…memories of simple weekend moments captured”

imageimage

Then I added a ton of puffy stars and triangles, wood veneer and cut out arrows, all from the Journey line, and a variety of circles and stars punched from various papers. Finally I stamped the date on a wood veneer from Gossamer Blue.

image

This layout came together quickly and I love how it captured a perfectly quiet, still moment on a Sunday morning. Thanks Lionel for the inspiration!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “And some days, you’re inspired by Lionel Ritchie

Leave a Reply

