The thrill of the hunt….TJX style…

Most scrapbookers know where little gems and deals can be scored and they love sharing their finds on social media groups and forums. And the place to often score these finds is in the world of the TJX banner stores, Winners, Marshalls and Homesense. I admittedly am addicted to the thrill of the hunt. What treasures can I find buried behind displays of tissue paper and gift bags? What’s that hiding behind a stack of photo albums and cookbooks? I can be counted on to find out for sure.

So last Wednesday was no exception. I was roaming around Marshalls when what should I see but a full My Mind’s Eye Now and Then Izzy Collection pack (half obscured by a stack of hand towels…luckily I have hawk-like vision). The Collection pack had paper, enamel dots, two sheets of stickers, 3 x 4 Project Life style cards and flair pins…all for $8.00 clearance (SCORE!!).

I often find it difficult to get the ball rolling with projects some times because I am overwhelmed by what I have (I have a problem, no denial here), so I find working from a kit simplifies that problem. I was on a roll Thursday night as I managed to complete a layout and two cards using the kit’s items.

The layout used two photos I loved of my boys and my best friend’s son on a recent vacation we took (I loved the look of the door and made them all stop and pose for me…I am slowly becoming my father I realize).

image

All the element were from the kit except the alphas in Double Take which are from Amy Tangerine and the little silver paper clip above the remember this card, which I am unsure of where I got it from.

Years ago I read an article with a scrapbook designer who said that at the end of each layout she completes, she tries to make a card with the leftovers (I wish I could remember who it was). I thought that was genius, and I try to do the same as well. This time I managed to knock off two. It’s always good to have a few in stock.

image   image

Hope everyone enjoys the long weekend and scores some great treasures!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “The thrill of the hunt….TJX style…

Leave a Reply

