Sarah, Sarah quite contrary how does your Garden Grow….Garden Planner Part Two

It has been a hot and sunny July in Toronto and my garden has exploded. I wanted to post a quick update on what I have added to my planner/journal since I first posted about it almost two months ago ( original post was https://sarahc1919.wordpress.com/2015/06/06/sarah-sarah-quite-contrary-how-does-your-garden-grow-garden-planner-part-1)

The last page I had posted was leading up to July, this is the completed final page for June (with harvest details….) and the title page for July.

image

image image

I confess that I have taken so many garden photos I have a hard time deciding which to put in. When I saw that Tara from createlifepaperwords (https://confetticreations.wordpress.com) was using the PL app to put multiple photos onto a 3 x 3 card, I knew that was the solution to my problem! So I used the PL app layout that puts 6 2 x 2 pictures on a 4 x 6 sheet and printed it out and cut them into perfect mini pics to add to my album. Up until this point I hadn’t really used the app for layouts or photos, more for journaling or printing, but printing multiple photos on a size compatible to a pocket size opens up so many options!

image

image image

On this page I used a variety of PL elements that were given to me by Kristie of sweetgirldesigns, (https://confetticreations.wordpress.com), who after giving me the cards in a pocket letter that inspired the album went on to send me more to help finish it (thanks!!). I wrote a progress report thus far, using a variety of floral embellishments and a ruler of course, to mark growth.

image

image image

When I first saw the card with the two butterflies, I knew I wanted to use in alone in a page because I loved it so much, so I simply added it with a heading and some embellishments. The next page, I used a photo of one of my favourite roses and matted it on one of the PL cards given to me, added the title wonderful (also cut from a PL card…I am notorious for cutting up PL cards for elements that I like!) and some washi tape and enamel dots.

image

image image

My final two pages of July are my harvest pages, detailing what I was able to pick last month. So I used some small stamps from Gossamer Blue to make a numerical list on a PL card from the Basic Grey Highline set (the so fresh card) and added in July in small pink alphas. I backed it with another PL card from the set that I had received. The second page I added 3 photos which were pictures of all I had harvested, matted them on the aqua polka dot paper and added some embellishments at the top. I added a journaling sticker to talk about my broccoli (my one perfect broccoli which was the item that has made me the happiest so far, I felt so maternal about it that I admit I had a hard time eating it…but I did and it was delicious! ).

This is the first year that I have truly planned a garden and documenting it like this has made me so much more appreciative of the work it takes to grow food. Hope you’ve enjoyed part two, hopefully there will be more in part 3!!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

