Week in the Life 2015

I decided to do a week in the life a couple of months ago. I had a class I was taking that required about 60 photos for a project life mini album. My friend Nicole and I talked about doing the week in the life as content for that class and decided we were both gonna give it a go.

I have never done week in the life before, but I did do my first day in the life back in February, and it was a very challenging process to document the everyday things I usually don’t feel are worthy of photo documentation. Not going to lie, I cheated a little. I chose the week of August 30 to September 5, a week I knew was packed with events, however, true to the purpose of documenting the everyday things, there is some everyday stuff included too, like my emissions test (which the dudes at Oil Changers thought was hilarious when I explained what I was doing and why I was taking a pic of my car being tested!)

So I started the album in Becky Higgin’s PL class at Crop and Create Cornwall, but did not finish. The class came with the super gorgeous gold album and the September Skies Value Kit. I put together quite a bit of it there, however, the value kit came with no regular 3×4 cards, just transparencies, which I struggled with using. However, at home I did have a partial kit of the September Skies core kit (thanks Nicole!) which had lots of beautiful cards, so I just finished the album up at home.

The September Skies kit is beautiful, very Heidi Swapp (whom I love) and I even ventured out of my comfort zone and used some of the more floral elements (which I usually avoid).

So here’s my Week In the Life share!

image image

So pictured left is the gold album, it was so pretty I didn’t want to touch it! On the right is the title page, I found the celebrate little things card and I thought it would be appropriate for the album, I stamped the dates and added a transparency arrow from the kit.

imageimage

On the left is the back of the title page, which I decided to leave plan and not embellish. My title page for Sunday on the right I used some Simple Stories letters for the title and some enamel dots. The love this heart is from Elle’s Studio’s Let’s Eat bits and pieces pack which I used a lot of in this album (I clearly take too many food related photos!).

imageimage

I really tried to not over embellish, I often have problems with that. This I wanted to focus on the story and pictures. All the embellishments on these pages are from the September Skies value kit.

imageimage

I left the page on the left very plain. On the right, I used some MME letters and an enamel dot to embellish my title page for Monday and used a gold heart (from MME, I use a lot of gold embellishments in this album and the majority of them are from a MME gold ephemera pack) and a arrow on my twitter screenshot. I have never used a screen shot before in my albums, but I thought it was cute to add.

imageimage

For the left side, I just took the camera ephemera piece from the September Skies kit and added a gold star from MME. To the right side I simply added a transparency phrase to the top photo, also from September Skies.

imageimage

The last page of the day on Monday, I added a tag from the September Skies kit and journalled a bit on the hello card (I am still unsure if I am happy with that decision). The title card from Tuesday I used some Elle’s Studio letters and embellished with a date journal spot from MME and flowers from the September Skies kit. I had to fight all urges to clean my desk at work before I took the picture on the right, but for the sake of accuracy and honesty, I painfully left it in the sad state it is normally in!

imageimage

I again used the Simple stories alphas to add PASS! to my photo on the left, and embellished the bottom with ephemera from Elle’s Studio. On the right I used the “moments” transparency from the September Skies Collection and I cut the bottom of the gold “happy” circle.

imageimage

I used only one embellishment on these pages, the little gold medal with the punched out heart from MME.

imageimage

I added a small arrow to the listen up card and a “pretty” word cut out and journaling spot all from the September Skies kit. I again used a screenshot, this time of my playlist to document a song I was grooving at that time. On the title page for Wednesday, I used some small white alphas from Basic Grey, an enamel dot and a bit gold “2” from the MME ephemera pack. The ephemera “but first…”  piece is from Elle’s Studio.

image image

The sunrise on Wednesday morning was beautiful, the photo doesn’t do it justice, I embellished the photo with a gold hello phrase from MME and sunrise I spelled with more of the griege (I love that colour!) letters from simple stories. I added CNE in gold thickers and an arrow from September Skies kit.

imageimage

All the gold embellishments here are from MME and the yummy treats is from Elle’s Studio.

imageimage

Again I used a lot of the gold MME. embellishments on these pages as well as some transparencies and the little journaling arrow from the September Skies kit.

imageimage

This was my favourite spread of the album, I just loved the colours. I loved this green and gold Hello card, so much I’ve used it twice, and I love the reddy/pink accents (the flowers and heart) that match our awesome blood orange bellinis. The heart, cheers and good eats bits are all from Elle’s studio, the transparency hearts are from the September Skies kit.

imageimage

For the last page for Thursday I again only used one embellishment, the same gold MME medallion with the heart centre I used previously (I really like that one). I used the same Elle’s Studio letters for the title page for Friday and used the Details journal spot from Elle’s Studio.

imageimage

Its hard to see in the photo, but I added a gold transparency in the word “fresh” to the photo on the left with the peaches from one of Heidi Swapp’s collections. I punched out the “adventure starts here now” circle from another PL card and glued it to the centre of the epic card. The gold #soexcited is from MME and the geo tag from the September Skies kit.

imageimage

I really loved all these photos so I didn’t want to add much to them, just two phrases from MME and the September Skies kit.

imageimage

I took another heart from Elle’s Studio and a MME gold “love” and layered them on the photo of the boys passed out in the car. I adore those photos. The Saturday title card again has the simple stories alphas and gold MME accents, and a few enamel dots. The seriously I love you is from September Skies value kit.

imageimage

The little green radio was my favourite embellishment in the September Skies kit, I added some enamel dots for the buttons to make it pop a bit. I used another transparency from the kit for the “today” words and used some alphas and another MME gold embellishment for the impromptu celebration picture.

image

My final page I added a hashtag and the word week to the “the best” card in gold and some little embellishments from the September Skies kit.

It really was a great week, very happy I decided to record it and I will definitely do Week in the Life again next year.

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Week in the Life 2015

Leave a Reply

