Halloween Countdown Album

Hey everyone,

It’s been a while, I know, unfortunately the last month has been extreme busy personally and professionally and I haven’t had as much time to devote to my creative endeavours as I would have liked (don’t you hate in when life gets in the way of your crafting??).

In September I thought about the idea of an October Daily album and promptly went scouring Pinterest for folks who had completed one and came up empty handed. I revisited the idea when I was watching one of Kristie’s videos (check her out at Sweet Girl Designs) on Youtube and she was talking about the same idea. She inspired me with her updates as well as sharing some other Youtubers who were also completing an October Daily.

So by the time I really had a chance to get on board with the idea, I realized that I hadn’t really taken a lot of photo for the first week of the month, so I decided to chance my album idea to a Countdown to Halloween, documenting the 13 days leading up to Halloween.

And almost three weeks after Halloween, I finished it (hey at least it was done before December Daily starts!)

The album I used is from Simple Stories which I found quite some time ago at Marshalls. It is a traditional Simple Stories kraft album front with a grey spine, but unlike their traditional ones, this one had a square cut out in the front and the front cover was embossed. I used some Tim Holtz distress ink in Black Soot to made the fabric look aged and rubbed the ink on the spine and edges. I also inked the entire kraft part of the front cover and gently rubbed a bit of gold ink on the raised parts to bring out the embossing.

image image

For the cover, and for the majority of the album, I used paper from Crate Paper’s After Dark collection and from My Mind’s Eye’s Frightful Collection. The black and kraft doily and spider web die cut were from a Halloween themed exchange (thanks Kristie!) and the spider, trick or treat sticker and the swirl embellishment were all from Michael’s. The pumpkin I fussy cut from one of the MME papers and I cut the 13 with my silhouette.

image

Page one started on October 19, 13 days till Halloween. I took the October and 19 wood veneers and inked them to make them fit better with the colours of the album. Gold and black accents from Michaels, papers from MME and Crate Paper and enamel dots from Crate Paper.

image

 

imageimage

October 20 and 21 both revolved around movies. I chose black and white elements for the 20th page as we had our annual viewing of the Nightmare Before Christmas (my favourite and costume inspiration for this year). I frame the printout of the poster on a MAMBI striped  3×4 card and used black and white striped enamel dots from Gossamer Blue to fill in the circles in the journaling card on the right side.  For October 21, I documented our viewing of Back to the Future to commemorate the 30th Anniversary of the date Doc goes to in the future (October 21, 2015…the future is now!!) and of course our festive treats! I layered several circles and embellishments and added 21 in thickers for the top card and used a BH card to journal for the bottom.

imageimage

For October 22, I simply used some American crafts embellishments on a cut piece of paper from Crate Paper and added 22 in sparkly orange thickers. I decided that for this album, no corners would be rounded, so for the journaling card which is rounded, I matted it on a black rectangle (yes, sadly, the consistence does matter to me!!). I added a hand cut banner and the word leaves and attached some fall accents in the corner of the card. For October 23, I hand cut another banner and added a medallion decal on top , from Martha Stewart, punched a smaller black circle and glued it on top of the medallion and added 23 in stickers from Simple Stories.  For the top card, I printed “Required Reading” onto the patterned paper from Crate Paper using my printer. I added a paper border and cut out some ephemera images from Crate Paper patterned paper. I added a banner sticker at the top from MME and some enamel dots.

imageimage

For the 24th, the 4×6 card I got again in a Halloween themed swap (thanks Carlye!) and I inked the edges. I used Black glitter bats from K and Company and star sequins from Crate Paper all over the pages to embellish. Again I used the banner/medallion combo on the Owl card (from MAMBI) to display the 24.

imageimage

On the last page for October 24th on the left, I matted a BH PL card again on black cardstock and added another American Crafts embellishment (which had ribbons coming down as it was supposed to be a medal style like the one pictured on the next page). I added two little banners and fun in chipboard alphas. For the 25th’s title, I opted to print out the word 25 and add it as a banner to the page. I used another of the doilies as a base, then glued a punched orange circle and another full American Craft’s medal sticker).

imageimage

For the second page of October 25th, I used a MAMBI paisley card and added a spider tag to it (again from one of my swaps but I cannot remember which lovely lady sent it to me) and I cut some orange paper from MME to make the card on the right, and added a sparkly black witch die cut, some thickers to write 25, the chipboard “spooky” from Teresa Collins and some enamel dots. On the page for October 26th I made my first ever fused pocket and filled it with star, bat and orange sequins from Crate Paper. For the title card, I cut a 4×6 card to be 4×4 and added a orange sticker tag to frame the 26 thickers. I hand cut a banner and finished it off with some great buttons from American Crafts (thanks Carlye!). I hand journalled on the bottom photo in white gel pen as I often like to do on photos that have a lot of dark colours.

imageimage

The back side of October 26th I left unembellished, just added more journaling. For October 27th, I created my own title card from cutting a 4×6 rectangle from paper from Crate Paper (I really loved the orange dot pattern and I used it a lot in this album). I added pattern paper strips, a chipboard zigzag border element and a sparkly cat die cut. I layered some punched circles and added 27 in stickers. The journaling spot on the top photo I cut out of a project life card and I embellished with several enamel dots.

imageimage

For October 28th, I used a MAMBI 4×6 card, but altered it as I didn’t like what it said underneath “spooktacular” so I added a paper boarder and added pumpkin in alphas. Again I added a Martha Stewart medallion to the paper and simply added 28 stickers to a punched orange circle. For October 29th, I took a plain spider PL card from MAMBI and added gold glitter stickles to highlight the image and added a boo sticker. For the journaling card I matted it on a black and white stripe card and added a hand cut banner with the number 29, and attached it to the page with a clip from American Crafts. I really loved these Michael’s black and gold banners but found that they really don’t fit in the pocket (without seriously puckering the page) so all of these are added to the outside of the pocket page protector.

imageimage

For the next two pages, October 30 and the first page of October 31, I used a variety of patterned paper to make my cards and embellished with paper, stickers and chipboard from Crate Paper and MME. I added elements, like the mini-pocket which is holding our movie tickets, from Teresa Collins as well.

imageimage

It’s hard to see from the photo, but on the right page I did my second shaker pocket, a mix of black sparkles and sequins. I kept the embellishments minimal as the focus was the photos.

imageimage

For the back side of the shaker pocket page I used another MAMBI PL card and embellished with scrap paper, stickers from Michael’s and chipboard from Teresa Collins. I cut another PL card into a banner shape and added it to a 3×4 piece of patterned paper I cut for the banner card on the right (embellished with a Teresa Collins chipboard banner and enamel dots).

imageimage

For the card on the right of the left page, I was so happy because I used 2 elements that previously I hadn’t been sure on how to incorporate. I glued the sparkly sugar skull to a 3×4 piece of paper from Crate Paper, I had them for a while but didn’t know how to use them. I also was given the orange bow in a swap and I thought it may be cute to add it to the sugar skull and have the bewitching card beside it as it was a pic of me and my girls, one of whom was in a day of the dead costume. The page on the right confused some of my friends when I showed them the album as they thought the candy was real! The candy pieces are actually stickers from Martha Stewart which I had for years and never used, which I thought was cute beside the MAMBI “I love candy” card.

image

The final page was one of my favourite pics of the kids (and Pirate Dan) doing the monster mash. I added the big chipboard 31 and really was very minimal about this page, using a black tag to journal on and embellishing simply with some chipboard bats.

When I wasn’t looking my 8 year old made an addition to the album. He thought I may get mad when I saw it, that he ruined my book, but I love that he added to it and I will cherish that memory (he also said he was lucky to have such a creative mom so any potential anger quickly subsided hehe).

I hope you enjoyed the album, next year I will brace for a full October daily and plan ahead, now to prep for December!

Sarah

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

