December Daily 2015 – Days 1 and 2

Hi Everyone,

I’ve been trying to get my December Daily up for a bit, but as life would have it, I haven’t really had a moment to spare these days (too many dinners, and parties and eating…and eating…and it’s only the 7th..yikes). So I finally would like to put up my December Daily days 1 and 2.

Last year, I was fortunate to win the enitre Gossamer Blue December Memories kit through Scrapbook and Cards Today’s 12 days of holiday giving (they are so awesome…really check out their blog for this year’s contest http://www.scrapbookandcardstodaymag.typepad.com/) but I had already finished mine by the time I got it, so I saved it for this year.

Now I am primarily a traditional girl when it comes to Christmas. I love red and gold, and my house is decked out accordingly. The colours in the Gossamer Blue kit were a serious departure from my normal colour scheme, but the items were so cute and I am always up for a challenge on how I can incorporate something into my own personal style.

Along with the Gossamer Blue kit, I used a lot of materials from Ali Edward’s December Daily kits (that my lovely friend Nicole shared with me!), items from a secret santa exchange I was just involved in (thanks Carlye!!) and some of the billion Christmas related embellishments I had kicking around from over the years.

So, I will start with the cover.

image

I kept it simple, and used the album from Gossamer Blue and embellished with some gold and white snowflakes from Michael’s. On top of those snowflakes, I layered gold wood chip snowflakes, also from Michael’s and two snowflake puffy stickers from the Gossamer Blue kit. The green banner diecut (which I cut in half), the December sticker and the magic puffy sticker are all from the kit as well, alphas from Basic Grey.

Title page:

image

For the title page, I loved this calendar page from Ali Edwards and felt it would be great for the title page. I added “daily” in small alphas from Basic Grey and added a large red plastic snowflake, also from Ali Edwards. The snowflake die cuts are from Gossamer Blue as the black and white striped enamel dot.

Randomness page (I didn’t know what to call this one) and Day 1:

imageimage

This was the first page I made, with no thoughts on what it should be or where it should go so I just stuck it in after the title page. I used some patterned paper from MME, from the 6×6 pad in the Gossamer Blue kit, and cut it into a tree shape, and added some sequins and enamel dots also from the kit. The cork star on top and the banner puffy sticker, which I used for the bottom of the tree, as well as the word stickers are all from the kit. I love the background wood paper, also from Gossamer Blue.

So initally I had the Day 1 page not on 6×8 paper but as 4 3×4 cards in that style page protect. I wasn’t feeling it. So I took it all apart and mounted the 3×4 card and the two 3×4 pictures that I took of my boys Christmas lists and mounted them on some cute paper (unsure if this paper is Ali Edwards or Gossamer Blue…). The 3×4 card, puffy plaid alphas, enamel dot and banner are all from Gossamer Blue. I used some thickers for the gold number 1 and star. The alphas used in “dear” are from Studio Calico.

Day 2:

imageimage

When I saw this Ali Edwards page on the left, I knew right away it would be in my album, as I really wanted to focus on some more journalling this year, and when I took the picture of my little guy on the left after we had put up our trees, I knew that I wanted to talk about lights which yes are one of my most favourite things about Christmas.

On the left, I simply added a vellum banner (which was a journalling spot from the Gossamer Blue kit which I cut into a banner shape), some Washi tape from Stampin’ Up and a little red plastic star also from the Gossamer Blue kit.

On the right, I used one of the pages of the Gossamer Blue kit to mat my photo (which was a 5×7) and added the plastic “magic” word from one of Ali Edward’s monthly kits (which I sprinkled some gold sparkles on). The memories sticker and all the stars are from the Gossamer Blue kit, and the vellum 2 was from an old December memories kit.

image

My goofy boys decided they were gonna be jokers and make the ornaments into earrings and make funny faces. A perfect photo op! The paper is the back of the red Gossamer Blue paper, which I liked so I decided to just use it. The puffy banner and arrow and snowflake are from Gossamer Blue, as is the vellum square “Merry” which I wrote “very” and “fun” above.

How is everyone else’s December Daily going??? Hopefully I will be able to get some more done soon

Sarah

Leave a Reply

