December Daily – Days 9-17

I feel super productive this vacation. The boys have been preoccupied with new toys which has allowed me to catch up on my December Daily. I also this year have allowed myself to be uncomplicated in my documentation, not too many embellishments, make the story the focus. This is a serious departure for me, who historically has spent an exhausting 2 hours on one page. It has also allowed me complete my album much faster than I have previously. Letting go of over embellishing is hard, the struggle is real…believe me. So here it goes, days 9 through 17!

Day 9:

001002

I kept these pages super simple, all the 3×4 cards on the left side are all from the Gossamer Blue kit. I added a few embellishments to the journaling spot, a thicker “9”, some gold washi tape, a die cut star and the word Wednesday (both from Gossamer Blue). The veneer tree and flair button snowflake are both from Michael’s. On the right, I simply put a Theresa Collins overlay on my photo and added a few sequins and a star to the 4×6 card from Ali Edwards.

Day 10:

003

I decided I wanted to journal a lot about this day so I opted to type my journaling to get more in. I printed my journaling on one of the 6×8 Gossamer Blue pages and then cut it down to a 4×6 card. I added a red strip at the bottom and another Theresa Collins snowflake overlay. I cut a banner from one of the tag die cuts, added the peppermint circle and the number 10 over it, both die cuts from Gossamer Blue.

Day 11:

004

December 11 was easy as it was the day we went to see Santa. I got one of the photos printed 6×8 and used that as the layout. On my computer I made the circular “official Santa photo 2015” stamp  and printed it out on red paper, then punched it out using a 2 1/2 inch circle punch. I punched a smaller circle for the inside from a wood grain scrap paper, added gold thickers for the number 11. I mounted that all on a snowflake die cut.

Day 12:

005006

On the reverse side of the  Santa photo, I added one of the Ali Edwards    6 x 8 papers that says peace on earth I really liked the script and decided not to embellish it at all. For day 12 on the right, I added two photos. The first, a 3 x 4 photo of the cookies we made, and the second, a 4 x 6 photo of my boys making the cookies. In the upper left pocket I put a tag that I had received from a swap I was involved in, I adored it the moment I saw it. I really liked the star that said “joy” on it and I embellished it with another star and the number 12 from the gossamer blue kit. On the back of the tag I printed out the recipe and I added a banner at the bottom of the tag telling people to flip over for the recipe which looks like this on the other side:

007

Day 13:

008

For day 13 I had a picture of all the gifts I had ready for my coworkers, so I decided to write in thickers on a piece of 3×4 paper I cut out ” ’tis better to give than receive”.  On the card in the upper right corner, which is from the Ali Edwards collection, I took one of the veneer ornament shapes from the  gossamer blue kit and added the number 13 from a die cut from the simple stories DIY Christmas collection.  I embellished the top of the ornament with some washi tape and I added some red enamel stars to the card as well .

Day 14:

009010

So I still haven’t mastered the fuse, but I wanted to play around with that on this layout. So what I did was take a 6 x 8 page protector and I sealed in a 4 x 6 photo on each side, a picture of each of the snowscapes my boys created.  Then I added in some star confetti and some vellum punched snowflakes from a Martha Stewart border punch I have  to the border parts of the page. I then sealed the top using the fuse to make this giant shaker border. For the page on the left, I added the magic puffy sticker from the gossamer blue kit  to the bottom of the picture and I punched a tab for the page in vellum and printed the number 14 on it .  On the right, which is the backside of the page, I simply added a snowflake and a puffy sticker to the center of the snowflake that says twinkle.

Day 15:

I kept day 15 super simple and used a Gossamer Blue card that said   ” ‘Tis is the season” and I added “for deluxe Cocoa and Christmas stories” with my handwriting and with some word stickers from Pink Paislee.  I hand cut the 15 banner banner from a cut out from Simple Stories and hand cut another red banner and glued it below and I embellished with a few plaid enamel dots from Gossamer Blue.

Day 16 and 17:

012013

For day 16 I used two cards from the Gossamer Blue kit.  On the left I punched a 2 1/2 inch circle from the plaid gossamer blue paper and glued it onto one of the black cards.  I been glued one of the white veneer Christmas trees to the center, from the Ali Edwards kit, and stuck the small “joy” phrase on top. The number 16 is from the Simple Stories DIY Christmas collection and I matted it on the same plaid paper and fussy cut around it.

For day 17, I matted my photo on some scrap black paper then added it to one of my favorite papers in the 6 x 8 size from the gossamer blue kit. I added some gold thickers to write “17”  I embellished it with some sparkly snowflake die cuts from Michael’s, and a wood veneer reindeer  also from Michael’s. I added a few sequins to the reindeer just to add a little more interest.

Well that was a long one folks! Hopefully I will have the rest of my album up by the end of the week….enjoy your holidays!

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

