Because you have to test out your new toys!!

I was very lucky this Christmas, I got several very cool crafting-relating items for Christmas that I have been dying to play with. The hubby told me he had a “surprise” gift for me, he said he thought I would like it and that he though it could be used for scrapbooking (these are the words that alarmed me because I am pretty positive he cannot even name one item related to scrapbooking!!) However, he hit it out of the ballpark with this one and got me an Instax printer. I secretly had been coveting one for a while, and was so thrilled to get one. So naturally I wanted to play around with it and decided to start a project I had been wanting to do for some time now.

When Crate Paper released their Wonder collection a few months ago, they had this fabulous large, wood veneer house shape, I believe they call it a framework. It was one of those objects that as soon as I saw it, I knew that I wanted to use it and what exactly I wanted to use it for. So I bought one and waited as my plan was to use it to put some photos of the night before Christmas, kind of playing up the words in the story of the same name.

SBC_ac-680226

I had everything very clearly planned, including the materials I would use (which was MME’s Christmas on Market Street Collection, so super beautiful) all I was waiting for was Christmas Eve for the photos. My new Instax printer would prove to be the right size to print out my photos for this project.

THE FINISHED VERSION

024

So here’s my finished version. Initially when I was planning, I wanted to have several photos of the evening, but as I tried to place them in they looked overcrowded, so I stuck with one single photo of my hubby and kids reading The Night Before Christmas printed from the Instax printer.

026

I knew that ” ‘Twas ” was going to be my title, a nod to the first line in the story The Night Before Christmas, and for the title I used some shiny gold thickers. The Christmas tree I fussy cut from one of the cards in the MME Christmas on Market Street, adhered with pop up dots for dimension and added some gold glitter to some of the ornaments for interest. I added a chipboard letter to the top right corner and matted the frame in a white polka dot paper, both from the MME Christmas on Market Street collection.

025

I really loved the colourful polka dot paper and wanted it to be the background for the focal section of the frame, to which I added the photo matted on some scrap red paper. I embellished with several chipboard elements, including the shapes and phrase, and added a button with some baker’s twine strung through. All the elements in this section were from the MME Christmas on Market Street collection except the button from American Crafts.

028

For the section directly below, all elements and papers used were from the MME Christmas on Market Street collection. I cut the striped paper on the upper section in such a way that it showed the red, pink and green stripe, which I simply embellished with some enamel dots. For the bottom section, I added a chipboard tag to the centre which I embellished with more twine and with alphas spelling 2015m and added two gold corner accents.

027

For the left sections, I used a variety of papers from the MME Christmas on Market Street collection and layered a bunch of chipboard elements with tags, twine, buttons and enamel dots. The banner chipboard elements at the top are the only elements not from the MME Christmas on Market Street collection, but they are from another MME collection, On Trend, and they matched so well I thought they would be good to use.

When I was done I didn’t really know what I wanted to do with it, but I decided to display it, as is, using a plate holder. It will now be part of my future Christmas Décor.

Happy New Year Everyone!!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

