December Daily 2015 – It’s a wrap, days 18 – 25

Hi everyone,

I feel super excited that I have my December Daily album finished…I am equally as excited to see my scrapbooking table cleared of miscellaneous Christmas products…

005

Yup that’s what it’s looked like for the past 3 weeks. I have worked on a clear space of the table that’s about 6 x 18 inches, that little space in the front of the photo. Ridiculous I know, but I never claimed to be neat!

Moving on, the Christmas products will be going away for the year and onto other projects. So here’s my final recap of Days 18-25 in the album.

Day 18/19

017018

On the left page for Day 18, I actually took a pic of one of the Christmas cards I made, the one that happened to be my favourite. I matted the photo on white cardstock and glued it to a 6 x 8 card from the Gossamer Blue kit. The little semicircle journaling spot is from Ali Edwards and all the embellishments and alphas are from the Gossamer Blue kit.

My first page for Day 19 (I had a few, it was a party day and I couldn’t decide through my photos) I used a grey 4×6 card for the bottom from the Gossamer Blue kit and I actually glued a scrap of the snowflake paper to the bottom, also from the Gossamer Blue kit. I used a small banner from Jillibean Soup for the date and matted it on the same snowflake paper and cut around the edge. The flair badge and wood veneer elements were from the Gossamer Blue as well.

Day 19 – pages 2-3

019020

For the page on the left, I simply added one of the Gossamer Blue kit 3×4 cards and wrote a bit on the photo at the bottom using a white gel pen. The photos were pretty busy so I didn’t want to add an embellishments to them.

On the right, I took a 6×8 paper from the Gossamer Blue kit and cut it in half to make the top card. I adhered a black die cut tree with enamel dots, tree from Michaels and enamel dots from the Gossamer Blue kit, and added a chipboard frame that I had for a long time (I don’t remember the manufacturer) as a journaling spot. I glued plain white cardstock to the back of the frame, wrote in the middle, added a strip of the snowflake paper from the previous pages and added the enamel word joy, both from the Gossamer Blue kit. I added PARTY in puffy alphas from the Gossamer Blue kit to the bottom photo.

Day 20

021

For Day 20, I wanted to highlight some of the beautiful homemade cards I get every year. So I created the layout above with journaling explaining my love of homemade cards. For the top card, I used some of the paper from the Gossamer Blue kit as a base and added a black tree, from Michaels, which I matted twice on scrap paper. I added 20 in thickers to the tree and added a cork star, from the Gossamer Blue kit to the top. For the bottom, I again used scrap paper to print out my journaling and embellished with a strip of gold washi tape, which I cut into a banner, and then layered on several cork embellishments and enamel dots from the Gossamer Blue kit.

022023

So I had a real difficult time thinking about how to incorporate the cards in. What I decided on was using the fuse to make custom pockets that fit my cards (as they were various sizes ). I took a regular 6×8 page protector and essentially fused the bottom and the side to make a pocket (I left the top open so that the cards could still be removed. I then punched holes in the centre and layered them in my album, as shown on the left.

Day 21

024025

I really wanted the pictures of the Hudson’s Bay Christmas Windows to be the focus of Day 21, so I cut my title/journaling card from paper from the Gossamer Blue kit and added gold and white snowflake die cuts from Michaels to embellish. For my journaling spot, I actually took a project life card with ruled lines, added a strip of scrap woodgrain paper and a strip of gold washi tape to the top of it. I added the 21 with alphas from Studio Calico and a red sequin to the middle of the white snowflake. I added a little journal spot on the second page, from Pink Paislee, and embellished it with some enamel dots from Gossamer Blue.

Day 22/23

026027

For Day 22, I again cut the card from paper from the Gossamer Blue kit. The journaling spot was actually hand cut from a PL card. I layered the journaling spot with a snowflake die cut, and a plastic snowflake on top of that, both from the Gossamer Blue kit. The 22 is another of the velum numbers I had hanging around from another kit.

The base of Day 23 was again cut from a paper, this is from Ali Edwards. I actually printed the “Twenty Three” onto my card and simple added some washi tape, from Stampin’ Up, a vellum star from the Gossamer Blue kit and some gold sequins. I hand wrote my journaling.

Day 24 – Page 1

028

Well Christmas Eve in Southern Ontario was, well, unexpected to say the least. I wanted to document our unusually warm temperatures with journaling about dreaming about a white Christmas, so I kept everything very white, blue and snowy. I used a 6×8 paper from the Gossamer Blue kit and matted my photos on white cardstock before adhering them. I cut from scrap a black banner and added the 24 in alphas from Elle’s Studio. I printed my journaling on white cardstock and matted it twice, once in black cardstock then in Nordic paper from the Gossamer Blue kit. I added a snowflake, from Michael’s, and a few blue plastic snowflakes from the Gossamer Blue kit.

Day 24, pages 2-3

029030

I needed a filler 6×8 page, so I used this beautiful Merry Christmas page, from Ali Edwards (one of the December Daily kits…I can’t remember which one). I simply embellished it with a few snowflakes from Michaels and some enamel dots.

For the left, I used another “believe” card (I just loved that card so much!). I used one of the translucent, chevron envelopes from the Gossamer Blue kit to hold the letter my son left for santa in the photo explaining what food was for who (it was very cute). I embellished the pocket with a chipboard sticker from MME and a 24 circle from Jillibean Soup. I slipped the pocket into the page and it was a little larger that the page protector so I folded it over and adhered it to the page using a bit of striped washi. I added the words Christmas Eve to the picture with words from the Gossamer Blue kit.

Day 24 – Page 4

031

For my final page of my husband and sons reading the night before Christmas, I used two cards from the Gossamer Blue kit, on the left I simply added a sequin to the middle of the card. On the green card, I used more of the phrase stickers from the Gossamer Blue kit, all ones that I felt could relate to Christmas Eve, and lined them up to the left. I added a strip of Stampin’ Up’s polka dot washi tape to the card, a wood veneer Santa (from Michaels) and some more gold sequins. On the picture, I used word alphas from the Jasmine Jones December Daily collection for Ali Edwards.

Day 25 – page 1

032

Again I needed a filler page as I kinda knew what I wanted to have on the reverse of this page before I knew what to do with this one. So I found this beautiful 6×8 card, I think from Ali Edwards but not sure, and used it unembellished.

Day 25 – Pages 2-3

033034

The page on the left was of first thing Christmas morning, and may be my favourite page of the whole book. The “joy” 6×8 page base is from Ali Edwards. I matted my photo twice, once with black, then red cardstock. I added in sparkly thickers morning and added Christmas from the phrase stickers from the Gossamer Blue kit. I added a plastic start from the Gossamer Blue kit as well.

On the right, I used a journaling card from Ali Edwards to handwrite what I wanted to remember. I embellished it by cutting a red banner and layering overtop a black puffy sticker banner from the Gossamer Blue kit, and of course I added a few sequins too! I added the puffy word sticker “joyful” to the bottom photo.

Day 25 – Pages 4-5

035036

The last pages of the album. As I was doing these I realized that after Christmas Morning, I really didn’t take any photos on Christmas Day (heaven forbid!) so all my pics from Christmas will be from this moment.

On the left, I used an Ali Edwards journaling card, and I cut a red square and glued it on the journaling part of the card, then glued my photo on top. I embellished with a wood veneer tree from Ali Edwards. For the bottom pic, which I had to add because this was the hubby’s idea of gift wrapping (taking the Pandora bag as they wrapped it and taping wrapping paper around the bottom of the bag to obscure the name of the store…it was hilarious) and wrote straight on the photo.

For my final page, I took one of the Gossamer Blue kit’s 6×8 papers and I cut a giant banner from cardstock to frame my photo and glued them on. At the top, I added a vellum phrase that says Merry Christmas and a sequin, both from the Gossamer Blue kit. To the bottom, I added a snowflake from MME and some sequins and a vellum believe word from the Gossamer Blue kit.

 

Well folks, that’s a wrap for this year! This is my third year of December Daily and I really do enjoy going back and taking a look at previous years…I hope my boys will too in the future!

Sarah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

