Pocket Letter Exchange

A little while ago I finished my first ever pocket letter exchange. I adore pocket letters and I loved having pen pals when I was a child. I am a serious advocate of snail mail and who really doesn’t love getting something in the mail that isn’t a bill?

So when Nicole at The Paper Baker was looking for people to do an exchange with, I was in! So the one I created for Nicole was fall themed, filled with some autumn inspired goodies (sorry the photo isn’t that great).I used some papers I had been saving, well hoarding, from Basic Grey’s Indian Summer Collection of a few years ago (one of my all time favourite collections of theirs!!)image

I absolutely loved the letter I got from Nicole in return! The Christmas themed letter was so cute, and I loved the little paper bags in each pocket. I also loved the outer embellishments along the side of the letter.

So inside the pockets were a bunch of cute little Christmas embellishments.  The embellishments included sequins, enamel dots, stickers, banner and plaque shaped die cuts, some cute Merry Christmas word sequins and some super awesome and thick bakers twine.

image

So I decided to take those embellishments and turn them into my first Christmas card for 2016 (nothing like being proactive!!)

image

I took an American Crafts Card and used it as the base of the card. I took a white scrap of paper, clipped the corners using a circle punch and matted it onto a green scrap of cardstock. I used some of the sequins from the pocket letter in those clipped corners. For the middle, I layered a kraft and a red plaque and took two of the green banner die cuts and adhered one to each side. I put a white enamel dot on both sides. I used some gold thickers I had to spell JOY and carefully took two of the punched leaves from the side of my pocket letter and used them to make a holly, along with three enamel dots for the berries. I popped up the plaque/banner and adhered it to the card with pop up dots.

I totally loved exchanging letters and can’t wait to do it again…thanks Nicole!

Long live snail mail!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

