The Old and the New – Project Life 2015 Weeks 45 – 47

Sometimes I start to randomly wander around my craft room and go looking, not for anything in particular but just to see what I have, what I use and what I have forgotten about (there is a lot in this category). Recently I had one of these episodes, and realized I have a lot of Project Life style cards, many collections I totally forgot that I had. So my mission was to try to use some of these forgotten collections to finish up my 2015 album.

This mission directly conflicted with the monthly Life Pages subscription that I have to Gossamer Blue. I was easily distracted by, and eager to use, all the new products that I get each month. For weeks 45-47, I used primarily some of the Gossamer Blue goodies I was looking forward to using for week 45 and then some older collections for 46-47. It’s all about balance folks, and inventory checks…you never know what gems you have hiding!

Week 45

All of the cards used in this layout are from Gossamer Blue’s Life Pages Subscription, with the exception of the “adore” card and the darker blue card with the raised dots, both from Heidi Swapp’s Prismatic collection. For the title card, I punched out a white circle and adhered a camera die cut (from Amy Tangerine I believe) overtop. I then embellished with a hexagon ephemera from the Gossamer Blue digital files that come with the Life Pages kits (I used a lot from the November digital files, all of the banners and words that I embellished with are from the files). I added “45” in pink alphas and wrote the week in small white alphas on a small blue banner I hand cut. The final embellishments were a black enamel dot and some small yellow acrylic hearts from Gossamer Blue.

I didn’t embellish too much on this spread, the only other card that I really added to was the plain blue dot card, to which I glued a hand cut heart from my scraps and added a small word phrase from Ali Edwards.

Week 46

For me, Fall always evokes a vintage vibe, not sure why (or if a season can even have a vibe???) and during my inventory of forgotten items I came across this Stampin’ Up project life kit “Happiness Is”. It had the perfect vintage vibe for me and for all the fall leave photos. All of the cards, except the light blue, orange and “yes” card, are from this collection (the rest are from Gossamer Blue).

The set came with some cork alphas which I used for the title card and for the orange card. On the title card, I simple stamped the dates with my American Crafts roller stamp and added stickers from the “Happiness Is” collection (as all the sticker embellishments are from) and some enamel dots. I added lots of layers of enamel dots and stickers to add dimension and keep everything coordinated.

Week 47

I used another one of the older collections I found in my inventory, the Simple Stories SNAP Birthday Collection. Since a lot of the photos were from my son’s birthday party, I thought this one would be perfect to use, and had enough non-birthday product so it wasn’t overwhelmingly themed. The only card not from that collection is the “highlights” card which is from Gossamer Blue.

For the title card, I cut a black stripe and adhered it and a green banner to the card. I added a square ephemera card, from October Afternoon (to which I added 47 in thickers) and added the “week” in which alphas to the black stripe. I hand wrote the week on the green banner and added two enamel dots. I added some enamel dots to a few other pictures and added a ticket ephemera (from Amy Tangerine) to the top photo on the right hand corner. For the bottom corner, I glued a black 3×4 card onto the blue 4×6 card and hand cut a heart from another 3×4 card. I added some word stickers from Gossamer Blue and a large “&” thicker.

I’m glad I found both those older collections, I feel they fit perfectly with what I wanted for Weeks 46-47…find anything good in your stash lately???

Sarah

Leave a Reply

