Simplify – Project Life 2016

I have been thinking a lot lately about the scrapbooking journey I have been on, including my Project Life albums. I started Project Life in 2014 as a way to capture my life on a weekly basis. I stuck to a traditional 12 x 12 album and basic design A pages and faithfully have catalogued every week of my life for the past two years. This is what I have learned.

  1. I’m exhausted. Yep, trying to keep up with the weekly project life, which initially seemed so achievable, alas is not for me. I need a better solution.
  2. I want to be able to complete other projects, not just my project life album (which seems like a never ending project that I am never caught up on!).
  3. Each page does not have to be a Louvre-worthy masterpiece. Let it go. In the end, my grandkids or their kids or the person that accidentally buys my album as it was stuck in the drawer of a dresser they bought at a garage sale, is not going to care if I stuck that banner sticker to the left or the right of the photo. Who cares? Just me.
  4. Subscriptions are amazing if you find one you really love and if you use them.
  5. My album should be about highlights, not a complete photographic history of my family, of the ordinary and extraordinary because both are equally important to me as a story teller.

All this being said, when I sat down to plan my Project Life album for 2016, I decided on a few things.

  1. I’m keeping it monthly this year. I feel like that is a solid achievable goal which will still allow me time for the other mini albums and projects I want to work on and which I miss.
  2. Secondly I decided on a two page spread for each month using the Project life F pages, which means majority of my photos will be 3×4 (this will allow me more pictures while still keeping it to two pages).
  3. I am going to rely heavily on my Gossamer Blue subscription, which I love and I pay for each month so I should start really getting my money’s worth! And they provide a good foundation for monthly layouts!
  4. HIGHLIGHTS ONLY. FAVOURITE PICTURES ONLY. Forget about the rest. Only put the pictures required to tell the story. This one I feel will be the most challenging for me.

 

So with that begin said, I would like to show my title page for my 2016 album.

image

Switching layouts was a big challenge for me. I knew that as soon as I saw the 4×6 card in the top corner (I think it was from either the Dec or Jan life pages kit from Gossamer Blue) that it would be my title card for my title page. I added a super tiny banner sticker in red, from Crate Paper and a blue enamel dot. The two cards in the middle row are also from Gossamer Blue’s Life Pages kits, again I can’t remember what months (I think November/December but unsure). \I added an enamel dot to each and added some heart rub-ons to the centre o the circle card, from American Crafts Dear Lizzy collection.

The card in the corner is from Ali Edwards (the grey and white dots) to which I affixed with staples one of the 2×2 cards from the February Gossamer Blue Life Pages kits and added a few blue enamel dots. The last two cards were both freebies from Studio Calico that I down loaded and printed out. To the “out with/in with” card, I just added the years with some alphas from Simple Stories that I got in a recent Gossamer Blue kit. For the “this is the beginning of anything you want” card I just hand wrote 2016 in white gel pen.

I chose a series of typewriter word stickers, from Bazzill, to add to each photo and I also added a light pink vellum heart to the top row picture (I can’t remember where I got that one from).

Most exciting thing? This layout was super quick! Excited to get the new year off to a start and looking forward to documenting January!

Sarah

5 thoughts on “Simplify – Project Life 2016

Leave a Reply

