The shortest is the longest – Project Life 2016 – February

February is a funny month. Technically it would be the shortest on the calendar, but I always find it drags and it always feels like the longest. This February was no exception. Perhaps it was the constant sickness going around (including a fabulous flu that had most of my family down), the anticipation of fun events in March (more on that in a future blog), or just the general February blues (at this point in the year I’m always like, come on winter, enough, just be over).

Needless to say, this February, I wasn’t necessarily feeling full of energy in any capacity, especially on the crafty front, so it took me a while to get my act together and complete my February entry to my Project Life 2016 album. But I finally finished it and I am pretty happy with the results! And since I am at home today with a sick little guy who is currently napping on the couch, it seemed like a perfect time to catch up on the blog!

 

I really loved the Gossamer Blue Life Pages kit this month, which most of my cards came from (all are from Gossamer Blue but some are from previous kits). I stuck with a black and white colour scheme, with some hits of red and pink. I used a lot of the puffy black and white sticker from Heidi Swapp that were in the kit, as well as the puffy hearts and dots from Fancy Pants.

I cut out some of the images from the 2 x 2 cards, as I usually don’t use those in layouts, like the blue love heart and the red today banner. I used a lot of pink alphas from Simple Stories that were from a previous Gossamer Blue kit as well as some Heidi Swapp banner journaling spots from January’s kit.

I also added some elements from the Crate Paper Hello Love line. I grabbed some of their tags, they were so cute, and added one to a black 3 x 4 card (the “be my valentine tag”) and added the cutest little pink heart with staples to the top left card (on which I also added a phrase sticker “all about” and painted the word “love”).

This month I also tried something a little different in terms of journaling. I used some of the prompt cards ( “loving” and “currently loving”) to note some highlights of things I loved that month (it’s February and all about love after all, hehe). I found it much easier than having to go into a long narrative, and sometimes quick highlights are enough.

Excited to be back in a creative groove and looking forward to showing you all some of my other creations in my next post.

Sarah

Leave a Reply

