Random finds and Easter Décor

As much as I try to purge, I keep amassing more supplies, more stuff. It, however, it not 100% my fault. I have enablers (friends) who know I am artsy and like to give me things that they think I can use, and I readily accept, no questions asked. I may not have a use for that item at the moment, but mark my words, I will keep it until I do!

A few months ago my friend Farah was at Ikea and she said “Oh I found all these cute cards for cheap and I got some for you because I thought you could use them.” They were cute, I had no idea what to do with them though….until I started thinking about doing some Easter/Spring Decorations.

So these were the cards Farah gave me, I think they were meant to be little postcards that could be framed?

image

When I opened the package they had a lovely rainbow pastel pallet and I thought they would be a good base for a Easter banner for my dining room. So I cut a triangle into each card to make a banner shape and set out how I wanted the colours to be placed and what I was going to use to embellish them.

 

image image

For each banner, I used ombre doilies from Michaels in a variety of Spring colours as the base of the focal letter, then layered a punched circle out of green and white polka dot scraps I had. I cut the word Easter on my Silhouette using yellow cardstock and glued that to the punched circle.  I also cut a variety of Easter shapes that I bought from the Silhouette Store and layered them randomly across the banner. I finished it off with a variety of floral ephemera from Crate Paper and some enamel dots.

And the finished banner….

image image

I really was loving the colours of the banner so I decided to translate that into my next décor project, little mini frames. So I bought 3 mini frames in the dollar display that is right beside the checkout at Michaels (as I have mentioned previously, a dangerous zone for yours truly). I decided to make 3 little Easter scenes to put on my hutch as a decoration.

imageimageimage

Again I used the same scrap polka dot paper as the background of the frame, which I glued to the frame backing then placed the glass overtop. The bunny shapes are felt from Michael’s as well, the chick is cut from my Silhouette, and both were attached to the glass on the outside. I then glued to the outside frame a variety of flowers and leaves again from Crate Paper. They look so cute on my table and match my banner so well!

The last of my Easter décor projects was based on a painted canvas I saw at Michael’s with a painted bunny silhouette and a small banner across the top of the canvas made of fabric. I liked the look of it, but not the colours so I decided to recreate my own with my own colour scheme.

image

I bought the blue chalkboard plaque from Michaels and I glued a bunny silhouette onto it that I cut from my Silhouette onto white cardstock. I hand cut triangles from the Ikea cards and glued them down across the top, adding some jute twine and enamel dots. I also hand cut a few eggs from the same cards and embellished with some enamel dots and glued them near the bottom.

image

So happy with the look of my Easter tablescape and banner! I plan on getting some fresh tulips and hyacinths to add then it will be ready for our Easter celebrations! Have a great Easter weekend everyone!

Sarah

 

2 thoughts on “Random finds and Easter Décor

Leave a Reply

