Spring cleaning, more Amy Tangerine and sources of inspiration – Part 1

As I write this , it is technically spring in Toronto, but the snow on the ground and the comfort of my Sorrels tell me otherwise. Spring cleaning may be a ritual for some, going through the hoard they have amassed while hibernating through the winter. I myself am not a seasonal purger, purging and cleaning on a grand scale is a very random and often spontaneous act that is triggered by something inconsequential, like not being able to find a mitten or my glue pen. Then it’s on and I am a cleaning madwoman for the next few hours, and yes, it is best to stay out of my way (or so the hubby would say!).

During the long weekend, at home with a sick little guy, I spent three days straight at home, consumed with getting my child to eat something and with YouTube videos. Yes, another obsession and time waster of mine (sadly I am starting to see a pattern here) I have certain people I follow and watch regularly, Amy Tan is one of those. I was watching her move into her new studio space and looked around my own craft room and was inspired to start cleaning and purging as it was in quite a disastrous state. Like, there’s a 2 foot path from the door to my desk type of mess.

My favourite part of hardcore cleaning is finding things you forgot you had (this happens to other people too right???). Amongst my cleaning, I found a kit I had bought at Crop and Create last year from a class with Nicole Nowosad. I didn’t take the class but bought the kit afterwards (some of my friends were in it and the layouts were so cute I knew I should have taken it). It had so many cute products from Amy Tangerine’s Rise and Shine Collection. It has remained in the bag since the day I bought it. I decided it was time to finally bust it out.

Not sure why I waited so long because I spent the next few days making a bunch of projects with that kit’s contents, which I totally loved, maybe one of my favourite Amy Tangerine lines.

First up was a layout that was based on Nicole’s layout from the class. Hers was a two-page layout and I didn’t have enough photos for that so I modified the layout a bit…

image

In Nicole’s original layout, the squares were a little smaller and done on two pages. I kept the same idea of the rainbow squares with colour coordinating embellishments from the line, mixed in with some black and white photos. I changed some of the papers and embellishments, but all I used was from the kit including the Amy Tangerine black thickers, the black enamel dots, stickers and all the ephemera which was actually cut from the Rise and Shine line’s papers. I really loved the layout and the colours Nicole had on hers and was happy with my results.

So I had a ton of product leftover, and in my cleaning I also found an old 7gypsies paint tray that my friend had given me, which I took and said “sure I’ll use that” (my famous last words). I thought the bright summery colours in the Rise and Shine Collection would be great for some beach photos I had kicking around, and set off to work on a little décor project.

image

 I tried to make 6 little vignettes, some with photos, some without. I used black cardstock to matte the photos to add a little more black to pull from the frame. With the exception of some enamel dots, some Heidi Swapp washi tape, some veneer pieces from Gossamer Blue, a couple of brads and clips and some puffy stickers from Fancy Pants, everything else was either made from paper or stickers from the kit.

image

image

image

imageimageimage

And finally, a card…because I always try to use the leftovers to make one when I am finished with a kit….

image

I must say it felt good to use up some of my old stash and items that I had forgotten about! It was like shopping without spending a dime and who doesn’t love that? Make any good stuff with your stash lately?

Sarah

Leave a Reply

