Spring cleaning, more Amy Tangerine and sources of inspiration – Part 2

I love doing challenges. I love trying to push myself to do something out of my comfort zone. While I was working on the paint-tray piece that I talked about in my last post, I was watching one of Shimelle Laine’s YouTube videos, Glitter Girl Adventures 133 : The Minimalist Mission ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fP9Tu8fQtrY ). I am a huge fan of hers, and I love the Glitter Girl Adventures series. I often watch my favourite YouTubers while I scrap, to get inspiration and ideas.

The challenge on this Adventure was to make a layout using as few supplies as possible. Shimelle used a 6×6 paper pad, her background cardstock, some washi and not much else to make her cute layout.As I still had quite a few pieces of paper in my 6×6 Amy Tangerine Rise and Shine pad leftover from my layout and paint-tray, I decided to attempt the same challenge as Shimelle.

So here’s my total supply list:

1 6×6 paper pad – Amy Tangerine Rise and Shine (with a good amount of papers used)          1 piece of white cardstock                                                                                                                   enamel dots (as my one embellishment)                                                                                            adhesive, scissors and paper cutter

This was a total challenge and really hard for someone who loves to over embellish and really forced me to be creative in using what I had.

image

I chose a photo of my friend Deana and myself on my birthday and used some of Shimelle’s techniques to build up my page using a variety of the 6×6 papers. The “I love right now” I cut from one of the papers and used for my title.

Then the fussy cutting began. Straight up, I hate fussy cutting. It is my least favourite scrapbooking technique, it takes too much time and I am too much of a perfectionist so I always think my cutting looks messy. But I sucked it up for the sake of embellishing.

I fussy cut the tiny yellow hearts, the faux washi tape, camera, circles and arrows from patterned paper in the pad and (painstakingly) glued them on. I added a handful of enamel dots scattered around the page.

Am I happy with it? I think so. Every bone in my body wants to take it and add a bunch of embellishments to it from my stash. I like the composition and enjoyed the challenge of making what you have, even the most basic supplies, work into a cute layout.

It’s good to get out of your comfort zone and it’s great to get back to basics sometimes, I highly recommend you try it, in your crafty adventures and in life in general.

And no…I haven’t finished cleaning the craft room, for those keeping score…another day!

Sarah

 

 

Leave a Reply

