Project Life – March 2016

Spring has finally sprung in Southern Ontario and I have been slacking a bit on the blog, taking advantage of the weather while it’s beautiful, getting in and cleaning up the garden in anticipation of summer days ahead (or to make room for snow, either is possible in Canada in April!)

I finished March’s PL entries a while ago and keep forgetting to post! March was a super-busy month. March break, Crop and Create and an early Easter this year gave me lots to document. This was first time this year I felt the need to add an insert to cover all the happenings of the month. I chose not a full 12×12 but an 8×11 insert (BH design G I believe) to add in my extra photos.

Page One and Two (title and insert page)

imageimage

All of the PL cards used are from Gossamer Blue, most of them from March’s Life Pages kit. The only exception is my handmade “March 5th” card that I made at Amy Tan’s make and take table at Crop and Create. For these pages I really focused on coral, mint and white as my main colours with accents of gold and black. I used a lot of the Fancy Pants puffy stickers and Pink Paislee black and gold word embellishments. I used a small 2 x 2 PL card from the kit as a journaling spot and layered it above some ticket stubs. I never really use pocket pages with 2 x 2 spots in the layouts, so I often used them to journal or embellish on bigger PL cards. I love the Pink Paislee white and gold chipboard alphas which I think were from last month’s Gossamer Blue kit, I have used them so much! Keeping with the watercolour inspiration of the right page, I painted in the coral words on the upper right hand card, just to add some more coral to the page and to reflect the other painting on the page.

Page Three and Four (insert back and last page)

imageimage

Again for these two pages I used a variety of cards from both the main Gossamer Blue Life Pages kit and from the Easter-themed add on kit. I chose a teal, blue and pink palate for the left page (very girly and not really a typical colour scheme for me, so I struggled BIG TIME with this page…). I used a variety of floral and doily ephemera, from Crate Paper and MME, to embellish the top left card which is actually a 4×6 card to which I added a 3 x 4 card and embellishments. Again in the bottom corner I used one of the 2 x 2 cards as an embellishment, as the shamrock was perfect for my photo of the St. Patrick’s day parade and the pink side was perfect with the colours.

I really loved the bright colours of the Easter cards…so happy that I bought the add-on kit! The kit came with a lot of cute wood veneer shapes, I used a few of them to embellish as well as some enamel dots and washi tape paper from Pink Paislee (the yellow arrow is actually washi).  I added a cute bunny sticker too from Crate paper to the happy Easter card and hand cut from another 2 x 2 card the striped easter egg behind the veneer Easter word. It is hard to see but I did stamp a tiny “memories” under the veneer Easter as well from one of the Gossamer Blue Life Pages kits (I cannot remember which one).

Hopefully everyone who is getting good weather is enjoying it and I will promptly be posting April’s layout soon!!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

