Traveller’s Notebook Reveal – Part 1

Every year there seems to be scrapbooking trends that catch on like wildfire, that you see everywhere. I will admit, sometimes I go with them, often I don’t. The traveller’s notebooks aren’t anything new, they have been around for a long time, but the scrapbooking world seems to have caught a hold of them recently.

I will admit, when I first saw them, I really didn’t know if I liked them, but when I opened one up and saw the possibilities, I was hooked, and I knew I could use them for multiple purposes beyond documenting my travels.

The book itself it made of leather, with a variety of little notebooks that you can add and interchange as you please, in a variety of papers (ruled, grid, plain, watercolour, kraft). They are held together with a combination of leather and elastic bands. When I first purchased my notebook, I decided to stick to just plain white cardstock notebooks and embellished my book with some tassels, beads and faux antique coins that I had lying around.

The first section of my notebook I devoted to my 2016 Garden journal/planner. Last year was my first year of keeping a garden journal/planner, and I loved combining two of my favourite hobbies, scrapbooking and gardening.

image

For my title page, I used a variety of floral themed products. I cut a piece of striped green and white paper (from MME’s On Trend Two collection) then I added the framed PL card from Gossamer Blue to the front of it. I used puffy alpha’s from Crate Paper’s Bloom collection and chipboard alpha’s from Pink Paislee for the title, and a variety of floral ephemera and chipboard from Crate Paper. I embellished with the little green striped washi from Amy Tangerine and little enamel dots from Simple Stories. I added a banner spot for my garden planner title (I truthfully cannot remember where I got this from!)

I used a variety of different materials for the rest of my planner (which is a work in progress but I will show what pages I have done so far).

image

My first page was a recap of last year’s successes and failures documented on a project life card, embellished with a variety of products from Pink Paislee and Crate Paper.

imageimage

I then used watercolour paint to sketch out my garden plan. I used a variety of embellishments and paper from Pink Paislee, MME, Crate Paper and Studio Calico. The journaling cards which I use throughout the album as journaling spots and mats for photos/drawings are from Gossamer Blue.

image

Again the next pages I added watercolour illustrations of my garden plans and of a tiered plant stand I want to build for my greens and herbs, using paper from Fancy Pants, PL cards from Gossamer Blue and embellishments from Crate Paper, Teresa Collins, Jen Hadfield, Heidi Swapp and Amy Tangerine. I used my tab punch to create tabs indicating what part of the garden my plan was about.

image

My garden book has always been part planner, part journal. I like recording what actual transpired after planting, and this year I was fortunate to have some beautiful flowers come up that had never bloomed before, which I wanted to document. I quickly typed and printed out a little blurb, and printed out two photos (one traditionally and one from my Instax printer, which I adore for these kind of journals). Again, paper by MME, journaling card from Gossamer Blue and embellishments from Simple Stories, Heidi Swapp, Crate Paper and Amy Tangerine.

Well that’s all I have for now, I will be sure to post the updates as I fill in the book throughout the summer. Hope everyone is enjoying their first day of summer vacation!

Sarah

 

2 thoughts on “Traveller’s Notebook Reveal – Part 1

  1. that is beautiful , Sarah… it is a great idea.. every spring, things come up that I had forgotten about, or things are missing and I realize I must have pulled them out, thinking in early spring, that it was a weed. I recently saw a picture from last year, and I am missing my big white Echinacea.. A journal will keep everything documented… Love it..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

