Traveller’s Notebook -Part Two

 

 

A few months ago I wrote about my new found love of traveller’s notebooks. I showed how one section of the book I used for my garden planner/dairy which is something I love to do each year. I started another section in the book to document my travels, and I wanted to share part of my summer trips section.

I really, really did want it to be a legit traveller’s notebook, so the first vacation of the summer I brought it along and added to it at night when the kiddo were asleep, using my Instax printer to print out photos in real time and decorating with Spartan embellishments and supplies.

I really tried, but it didn’t quite work out. I missed my stuff at home and as soon as I started working on a page I would be like ooh I wish I had that sticker at home or some white enamel dots or whatever. It was too difficult for me to work with a limited supply of stuff, so some parts were done in real time, others added in later, and I am good with that.

I wanted to share the first section of my album from this summer with our annual trip to Blue Mountain. Majority of the paper and embellishments I used were from the Pink Paislee Outfitters Collection (which I loved) and from the Crate Paper Journey Collection, mixed in with cards from Gossamer Blue and embellishments from all over the place.

004

Use what you have! I hand cut the “Blue” title from one of the Blue Mountain travel magazines from the hotel lobby.

006

007

The instax is pretty handy for traveller’s notebooks and this stamp from one of the Gossamer Blue life pages kits (not sure which one off hand) was a quote that I love so I had to add it in!

008

I always put ephemera in my project life and in my traveller’s notebooks as well. Our hotel room card holder was a perfect spot for a tag and some journaling.

009

010

I played around with some watercolour pencils on this card from Gossamer Blue that I used for the background of this page and also used them to colour in the stamp at the top.

011

Confession…this page was created at home. As soon as I saw these amazing Ali Edward’s digital stamps that she was giving away as freebies, I knew I had to use them, so I waited and added this one in later and I love the way the stamp looks on the photo.

012

013

I loved this roamers and seekers card and new it would be perfect for our mountain-top hike!

014

I really love using pocket style cards in my traveller’s journal, they fit so perfectly! This was one from Gossamer Blue which was perfect to journal the day.

015

016

This spread was one of my favourites of the book. I loved the grid-like patterned paper from Pink Paislee, it reminded me of being very nautical, so I used it on my beach pages…also used some more of those fabulous digital stamps by Ali Edwards.

017

The ephemera from the Pink Paislee Outfitters collection matched so well with my pictures especially Kristian’s first attempt at kayaking.

018

019

For this two page spread about the outdoor movie we watched, I used lots of star themed products, again from the adventurer line, on a background I painted with some watercolours.

020

021

I used some of the die cut frames from the Outfitters collection with a mix of stickers and ephemera from Pink Paislee and Crate Paper. I love these cork stickers and used them all over this book!

022

I love collecting stuff on my travels and using them in my scrapbooking. This envelope was from our tickets for the ridge runner roller coaster. I used it as a journaling spot by adding a loose journaling card inside, glued to a tag, and added a veneer paper clip embellishment.

That’s entry one in the summer journal! I hope you enjoyed and were inspired to document your travels!

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

