Project Life – October 2016

October is hands down the best month of the year in my humble opinion. Not only is it my birthday, it contains Halloween (my favourite holiday) and thanksgiving (for us Canadian folks) and it definitely is when mother nature is at her brightest and most colourful.

It is also always one of the busiest months on my calendar. Along with the holidays and events, fall always has a way of drawing me outside, wanting to go pick apples or pumpkins, walk through leaves, experience all the goodness of the season.

The colours in the October Gossamer Blue kit were beautiful, albeit not very traditional fall colours, but I am always up for a challenge! Truthfully, by the time I completed my October layout, I had my November Gossamer Blue kit which had many more traditional fall elements and I used several for my October layout.

Title page:

img_0252

Totally loved the cards in the October kit and the little stickers from Dear Lizzy, I used many of them to embellish. I used a few of the stamps from the November Gossamer Blue kit as they had a thanksgiving theme to them (perfect for our early thanksgiving here) and I used a few puffy hearts from an old studio calico line and a rubber feather from Amy Tangerine to embellish.

Last page:

img_0257

For my last page which was focused on Halloween, I tried a more subdued colour scheme. With the exception of the “Happy Halloween” card, which is from Simple Stories, all the cards are from the Gossamer Blue October kit. I used several stickers from Simple Stories to embellish, the chipboard cat is from Teresa Collins and another rubber phrase from Amy Tangerine is in the top right corner.

Insert:

img_0256

Volunteering on a field trip to the pumpkin patch? How could I resist? It was a crisp, bright October day and the photos were so bright that I decided to let them be the focus and use muted cards, both from Gossamer Blue.  For the “today was fab” card, I cut a journaling spot and added some striped washi and a veneer arrow, all from the Gossamer Blue October Life Pages kit. Then came the stamps, I added a bird stamp to the top of the T and stamped on black paint splatters (I absolutely adored this stamp for reasons I can’t explain and it makes quite a believable paint splatter!).

img_0318

Ok folks, I think this page may be my most favourite project life page ever (I realize I have said it before, but this one I really mean!). I love the watercoloured cards from the Gossamer Blue kit and I embellished with several rubber flowers from Amy Tangerine and with some cut out ephemera that I printed from the digital file (the learn definition is a stamp from I think September’s Gossamer Blue Life Pages kit). Mimicking the watercolours in the cards, I took one of Amy Tangerine’s watercolour resist cards and used the same colour scheme to colour it in with watercolours. I matted it twice and embellished with washi tape, some puffy hearts and some enamel dots and I loved how this car came out! Not only do I love the colours and products of this page, I really love the photos too!!

Hope you enjoyed my October entry and I look forward to sharing November soon!

Sarah

2 thoughts on “Project Life – October 2016

Leave a Reply

