December Daily -Days 1-7

Hey everyone! It’s January 2017, another year in the books and I although I was totally up to speed on completing my December Daily Album this year, I have not been so motivated to get it up on the blog, my resolution for 2017 should be to stop procrastinating!

So I am going to go through a quick run through of days 1 through 7. I mainly used Gossamer Blue’s 2016 December Daily kit, as well as paper and embellishments I had leftover from Gossamer Blue and Ali Edwards’s kits last year and bits and pieces of my extensive collection of Christmas goodies.

Cover and Album


So for my album I used an unconventional choice. I had this aqua and white striped Simple Stories album for a long time and I decided I could make it work for my December Daily album when I saw the Gossamer Blue December memories kit.

For the front, I cut some navy card stock to back the “merry” word from the Gossamer Blue December memories kit, and embellished with navy washi tape also from the kit. The snowflakes are wood and from Michaels to which I added a green button and bakers twine – the memories wore I typed and printed out.

Title Page  – My title page was actual a series of three pages layered together. I mixed and matched page size in this album and I started with a 4×6 page protector which was broken down into 2×2 squares which I filled with little bits of wood and enamel ephemera and sealed with my fuse. Then I cut a clear acetate sheet with words written on it to 6×8, placed it behind and then placed an old 6×8 sheet behind it, embellished with some wood snowflakes.

Back of the first page

img_0442

img_0443

The Reason – In previous years, I never put this in but I saw several other people doing it and I thought it is a nice way to start off the album. I typed it on my computer, printed it on cardstock and mounted it on paper I had from a previous kit.

img_0444

Day One – I printed a large 6×8 photo and added the border and the word “One” in Photoshop. I embellished and handwrote on the photo using a white gel pen. All the embellishments were from Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016.

img_0445

Day Two – This page was the left side of my layout, I added some ephemera from the Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016 to an old 6×8 I had and added some thickers to spell two.

img_0446

For my journaling, I actually used a tag and added it loosely to my album.

And this is how it looks layered in the album….

img_0447

And for my photos, I added in a small insert, front on the left and the back on the right…I added a cute tab to the top and embellishments from Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016.

Day Three (front) – I have had these page protectors from Simple Stories for years and I always thought this layout was slightly odd and difficult to work with so I have a million of them leftover. I thought I would try to use them up and created a banner border with the number three in the long strip section of the layout. All paper and embellishments are from Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016.

img_0452

And the for the back, I just added another strip of the acetate word paper and layered it with the white paper for added dimension. I used a project life style journaling card from one of Gossamer Blue’s Life Pages kit as my journaling spot and embellished with tape and ephemera from Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016 as well.

img_0453

Day Four – So for day 4, I decided to get a bit creative. I was toying with the idea of making a giant number shaker for one of the days and the shape of 4 seemed to work out for my idea. What I did was drew and cut the number four from a regular 6×8 Simple Stories page protector, keeping the margin part with the holes so I could still have it flip in the book like a regular page. I then stuffed the four with white embossing powder and some sequins and sealed it up with my fuse.

img_0454

 

img_0455

Front of page four…all paper and embellishments from Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016.

img_0488

And the back…I asked the boys what their favourite ornaments were and took pictures of the ornaments and printed them on my Instax.

img_0489

Additionally, I had a 4×6 page insert with photos of the boys helping me trim the tree, the front on the left and the back on the right. I again glue a page tab to the side of the insert.

And yet another page, December 4th was quite busy, what can I say? Here’s the front…

img_0494

And the back…

img_0495

Day Five – For day five, I took a picture of the toblerone shortbread I had made as well as added the recipe. I fell in love, and perhaps abused a bit, the evergreen bough stamp that was in the Gossamer Blue’s December Memories kit 2016, and stamped it all on the recipe card which I created using the Project Life app.

img_0496

Day Six  – We have a tradition of at least one time eating under the tree, picnic style…and when that coincides with Taco Tuesday, it’s a big hit! Again I used a Life Pages journaling card from Gossamer Blue as my journaling spot, with paper and embellishments from their December Memories kit 2016.

img_0498

Day Seven – Soooo….anyone ever see something totally not scrapbooking related and decide that it would be the most perfect scrapbooking embellishment ever? So that happened when I walked into the Starbucks beside my office and saw the ugly sweater gift cards. Totally adorable and I totally knew I wanted to use them in a shaker pocket. The look on the barista’s face when I asked her if I could have two of them, then explain what a shaker pocket was, was priceless. I love the way it turned out when I added some white embossing powder and sequins. This page is one of my favourites in the album.

img_0500

And the back…I glued two of the sweaters back to back so they would look nice on both sides.

img_0501

Hope everyone enjoyed my walk through of days 1 to 7, I hope to have the next chunk of pages up soon and have the whole book posted in three entries.

I hope everyone enjoyed their December and is starting off 2017 with happiness and love.

Sarah

2 thoughts on “December Daily -Days 1-7

Leave a Reply

