December Daily – Days 8-16

Hi Everyone, here with my second installment of my December Daily posting!

Day 8  – For this page, I glued together two of the 4 x 8 pages that came in the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016 and used them as a base. The Be Kind is a Life pages card from an old Gossamer Blue kit that I thought matched the sentiment of my photo well, so I used it as a base for the matted photo. I embellished with a multi-layered wooden snowflake which I love to do on pages that do not have protectors as you aren’t constricted by the depth of the pocket.

img_0636

And here’s the reverse of the page…

img_0637

Day 9 – One page in my album every year is a 6×8 shot of the boys annual Santa photo. I embellished with some snowflakes, number ephemera and puffy stickers and added the photo tab to the edge,  from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016.

img_0638

On the back, I chose to hand journal my thoughts about the Santa photo by gluing on a 6×8 paper from a previous December Daily or December Memories kit, I can’t remember where it is from actually. I embellished with some cute little tree stamps and a sticker from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016. The reindeer ephemera is from an old Recollections collection and I jazzed it up a bit by tying some bakers twine around the neck.

img_0639

Day 10 –  For day ten, I chose to add a fun vintage airmail envelope to the album and to embellish it with two tiny Instax photos of the boys Christmas wish lists. I placed the real lists inside the envelope because I love looking back and seeing the original letters and artwork that people create. All the embellishments are from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016 except the word “ten” which I think is from an old Jillibean Soup collection and the striped washi from Stampin’ Up.

img_0640

Day 11 – Gingerbread house time! The great thing about hoarding supplies is being able to use them years later (hehe, ok, so that doesn’t always happen but when it does I feel super vindicated!) which is the case with the project life style card on the right which a friend gave me from an old Ali Edwards kit. It worked perfectly with this layout and the colours. All other paper and embellishments with the exception of the wood star are from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016 .

img_0641

Day 12- Document the disaster…that’s what I would like to subtitle day 12! I used a combination of Gossamer Blue life pages cards from previous sets and used my printer to journal on the top left card and to add the hand written number twelve to the card with the reindeer head. The “12” in green I stamped on with stamps from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016  and added a thin strip of red and white washi from the same kit. The black card with the snowflake was from the December 2016 Life Pages kit and I snatched it out and embellished it with wood veneer from Lawn Fawn and a chipboard phrase from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016 .

img_0642

Day 13 – Ok well today was a busy one with lots to document so it took a few pages.

Page One – Today I went on a class trip with the kindergartens to see Nathan Phillips Square. It was a chilly day but lots of fun for them. I used the December card from an old Gossamer Blue December Memories kit (not sure which year) and added the mittens from this years kit. I punched a circle out of scraps and added in the 13.

img_0643

And the reverse features the whole class in front of the Toronto sign (we are in the first O, but its hard to see!) and again I used a card from an old Gossamer Blue December Memories kit, as the sentiment was appropriate, and embellished with little snowflakes from lawn fawn and an enamel dot from Simple Stories.

img_0644

Page Two –  As soon as I saw the “keep cozy” sticker in the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016, I knew that I was going to use it for this layout and I layered it with some scrap paper and glued it onto one of the tags from the kit to create the top card. The bottom card was created from the Project Life app and I just again used my favourite stamp from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016 to stamp on some boughs to the top.

img_0645

And the reverse of this page was dedicated to the Hudson’s Bay windows. The bottom card was again one in my stash from an old Ali Edwards Magic kit and I used the Project Life app again to create my journaling card, embellishing with enamel dots and some stamping.

img_0646

Day 14 –  So I made Toberlone Fudge, and I will admit, it was pretty epic, worthy enough to get its own entry. I had this very cute 4×6 card from and old kit (not sure which one at the moment) and I thought I would use it like a recipe card and stick it in. I glued on the back a lined card and wrote the very easy recipe down. All of the embellishments except for the snowflake and enamel dot are from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2016, the snowflake is from Michael’s.

img_0647

img_0648

Day 15 – When you find wrapping paper this cute and actually use it before December 23, you want to document it! I used an old Life Pages card from Gossamer Blue as my journaling spot and added a tiny red star stamp and plaid washi from their December Memories 2016 kit. In my paper stash I found this adorable evergreen tree paper, I think it’s from an old We R Memory Keepers line, but I am not sure. I hand cut the tag from scraps and stamped a stag head on the front from on of the Scrapbook and Cards Today Memories delivered kits (I think December 2015?), the stamped spot on the number 15 is from the Gossamer Blue December Memories Kit 2014.

img_0649

Day 16 – I used another random previous life pages kit card for my journaling spot as I liked the little fork and knife on the circle. I printed on the card from my computer and I added cookies with some tiny alphas from Simple Stories. For the card on the right, I had dilemma. I really liked the reindeer veneer however at some point, one of the antlers fell off mine. So my ingenious solution was to cut it in half and use it as an embellishment on a semi circle, which I realized has shifted from the edge of the page but oh well what can you do. Again I used my computer to print out the word sixteen.

img_0650

Thanks for checking out my second installment of my December Daily 2016! Stay tuned for my final post with the end of my album!

Sarah

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

