Project Life 2017 – March

Hi Everyone,

I hope everyone is enjoying their long weekend and taking advantage of the fabulously warm weather and spending time with friends and family! I am eager to share my March Life Pages spread with everyone and the cute little birthday card I made with some of the leftover elements from my March Gossamer Blue Life Pages kit.

March always is a busy month, there is always a lot going on and this March was no exception. March was my first spread of the year with inserts to try to get in all the things I wanted to remember.

First Page:

IMG_1155

It is funny, I love this bright Kelly green colour in real life, especially in my wardrobe, but it is not a colour that I naturally gravitate to in my artistic endeavours. I loved the bright primary colours in the Gossamer Blue Life Pages kit for March and decided to use the orange, green and navy as my primary colour pathway for this page.

For the title page, I kept it simple and painted with watercolour a green swoosh (swoosh? not sure if that’s a technical term or not but I am using it!) and a small puffy heart to embellish. All the cards and embellishments are from the Gossamer Blue Life Pages kit March kit as well. I printed and cut several of the Gossamer Blue digital file elements and used them to embellish as well. I layered several kit elements on the orange striped card to make a unique card for my page, which I was very happy with!

Front Insert:

IMG_1158

So I have a bunch of this smaller sized protector pages that I am eager to use (read…there was a bunch of them on sale really cheap at Homesense and I over bought). I again used one of the cards from the Gossamer Blue March Life Pages Kit as a base to layer one of the tags and some of the embellishments from the kit – the smile ephemera is from the digital file and I added some washi tape to embellish the bottom. For my journaling card, I stamped the date box onto one of the journaling spots, both from the Gossamer Blue March Life Pages Kit, added some more chipboard and puffy stickers and enamel dots.

Back Insert:

IMG_1156

I realized that the photos I print on my Canon Selphy are slightly smaller that the 4×6 cards from the Gossamer Blue kits, so I have tried to take advantage of the background cards as a sort of border if the back side has a photo, like I did with the top photo. I purposely off-centred it so the stripes would show on the bottom left corner. I layered a wood veneer, a puffy heart and a punched circle to create the embellishment. I used minimal embellishments for the rest of this page from the Gossamer Blue March Life Pages Kit.

Last Page:

IMG_1154

Another one of the colour pathways I really liked in this month’s kit was the coral, pink, light green and black combo, one I never ever would have chosen on my own (way out of my comfort zone!) but I loved the way they all worked together.

Clearly the layering a tag and embellishment on a card technique was my go to this month as again I created another of those cards in the middle, then I used a variety of ephemera (from the kit and digital files) , chipboard and puffy stickers, washi tape, enamel dots and wood veneers to embellish.

 

So last month I decided to use up some of my leftovers from the kit to make at least one card (I am making a conscious effort to continuously be replenishing the card stash!) and I decided to do the same this month. There was one card in the kit that immediately stood out at me, and that was a card with a little cupcake on it and I though how perfect for a birthday card!

IMG_1185

So quite simply, I took the 3×4 cupcake card and matted it with one of the larger 4×6 cards, the one in the same pink with bubbles on it, and glued that to a 4×6 white card.  I used pop up dots to adhere the two together for a little dimension. I then took one of the journaling spots, again in pink, and stamped Happy Birthday to You on it with a stamp from Your Next Stamp and adhered that again with pop up dots. I embellished the cupcake with 3 white enamel dots and some stickles translucent glitter (which I also used to make the three dots on the journaling spot).  That’s it, quick and easy!

I hope everyone enjoyed my March share and looking forward to documenting and sharing my Week in the Life which I am starting today! Stay tuned…

Sarah

Leave a Reply

