Week in the Life 2017 – Part One

 

 

Hey Everyone,

It has been a super long time since I blogged, life has just not given me the time I would like to do so! I would like to finally post my Week in the Life Album from April 17 to 23 2017, which I completed along with Ali Edwards, Week in the Life founder and guru, and thousands of others I am sure.

I will admit, this year I was a little late to the game. I decided to participate like 2 days before it was scheduled to start, order the kit from Ali’s website and paid to have it express shipped, but it still didn’t make it on time. I have participated in the Week in the Life in the past and was really interested in doing it again. I want the boys to have a peek at things as they were, things they probably won’t remember as adults, and who knows, maybe future generations will look at it with the interest I have now for old albums and photographs that my grandparents kept.

Getting Started

So for the project I used the Ali Edward’s Day in the Life 2017 kit primarily as the main source of the supplies. With the physical kit, in addition to the papers and embellishments, it came with an album and protectors (I chose the polka dot album above) and the digital copy of the physical kit. This for me was like hitting the mother load. I made really good use of the digital kit by adding stamps to my photos, reprinting onto cardstock some of the pocket cards to add more to the kit, and printing out additional embellishments.

Elsewhere, through out the album I used a variety of Ali Edwards and Gossamer Blue pocket cards and embellishment from previous kits that fit in with the theme of the book. I was also looking for some paper that had the same colour scheme as the album and I found that in Amy Tangerine’s Oh Happy Life kit. I pretty much used up scraps from that collection as well as a 6×6 paper pad to create additional cards and matting.

Title Page

IMG_1615

So I really love these little 2×2 square pocket pages, but I admittedly struggle with how to use them. There was two included in the kit and I thought maybe I print one photo from each of the seven days to create my title page. I printed out the digital star patterned paper and the digital rubber stamps to create the additional squares. The kit came with a bunch of pre-cut banners, I stamped the days of the week on them (using an Amy Tangerine roller stamp) and adhered them to each photo. I used one of the banner phrases “A week in the Life of Us” and an enamel dot on top of the page protect to embellish. For the back of the page, I cut some scrap paper from the collections I was using (Amy Tangerine and Ali Edwards) and added the dates using a Martha Stewart label.

IMG_1616

Monday

IMG_1617

I decided that each day would begin with a 4×6 photo with the day added as a digital stamp and then some journaling. I used elements of the main WITL kit including banners, rubber shapes and stamps to embellish. I typed all my journaling using my computer, but used a font that mimics a typewriter, Hermes 1943. I call it new school old school…I don’t trust my typing accuracy with a real typewriter!

IMG_1618

To mix it up, I always use a combination of handwriting and typing. I absolutely loved the giant acetate days of the week abbreviations and I mounted this one on paper from Amy Tangerine.

IMG_1619

I printed and cut out some words to add to the journaling card at the top left from the WITL kit and embellished with another word strip from the kit and enamel dots.

IMG_1620

I wanted to mix up how I documented the times, sometimes typing and printing them out, sometimes stamping and sometimes using alphas like these from Simple Stories. The journaling card on the bottom is from the WITL kit and the top is one I created from Amy Tangerine paper and adding a printed embellishment and some enamel dots and puffy stickers.

IMG_1621

I don’t think I am the greatest photographer, nor the most adventurous in the angles I use, but I wanted to add some less traditional photos. I quickly snapped this one of my son getting ready for practice and I loved the way it came out, so I printed it 6×8 and added journaling directly onto the photo in Photoshop. I simply embellished with a chipboard sticker from the WITL kit and a small puffy heart.

img_1622.jpg

I found this journaling card from one of Ali Edward’s older story kits and thought it was great for WITL , I printed directly onto the card from my computer which I do quite often.

img_1623.jpg

All the cards and embellishments for this page are from the WITL kit, including the stamps that I added to the top card.

Tuesday

img_1624.jpg

So the back side of the last page of Monday is pictured above. I used a card from the kit and a chipboard shape to create the top card, matting it on a square of the Amy Tangerine orange paper. The yellow card is just a piece of paper cut from the same Amy Tangerine paper pad. The last card was created by layering a square of the striped paper, from the WITL kit, with numbers from the same kit and adding some stamps from Stampin’ Up.

IMG_1625

Again I used the same format for this page as I did with Monday’s page, adding the digital day stamp to the photo, hand writing the time with a white gel pen, and adding some embellishments from the WITL kit.

IMG_1626

I loved this everyday story card. It is from an old Ali Edwards kit and it was the perfect colour and sentiment for the photo. Embellishments on the photo are from the WITL kit and chipboard stickers from a past Ali Edwards story kit.

IMG_1627

I decided a long time ago to let go of perfection in scrapbooking, so in went the journaling card up top, from the WITL kit, complete with smudged handwriting! I made the bottom card from layering two old papers and the wood veneer and rubber stamp embellishments from the WITL kit. I typed and hand cut the time banner.

IMG_1628

I really loved these photos of Noah, caught in just the right moment of laugher. Both cards are from the WITL kit with embellishments from the kit and previous Ali Edward’s kits – I believe the puffy stars throughout the album are from Fancy Pants.

IMG_1629

I decided to mat this photo on white cardstock and then add it to a 6×8 page that I cut from one of the Amy Tangerine papers. I embellished with the acetate day and a printed banner from the kit and a time one that I printed.

IMG_1630

So I wasn’t sure about the print on the back of the paper, but I decided I liked it and used it to frame the page for a full page journal entry. I typed it on the computer and realized I had a bit of a gap at the bottom, so I sliced a photo and added it to the bottom. I really have a hard time remembering to get myself in the photos, so I made sure to set up the timer while we were playing.

 

Well folks, that is my first entry for my Week in the Life album, stay tuned for the rest of the week!

Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

